catch up

Hiiii.

So it’s been a while, right? Since this past summer I kept thinking about how much I wanted to pick this back up again.  I always have so many thoughts about what I’m going to write and never actually write it down.  But, my life has changed a lot since my last 2013 post! It’s now March 2015… wow.

Life events that have happened, just in case anyone who isn’t my friend yet is reading this:

Married my best friend, Aaron, in October 2013.

_MG_7872

Moved into our own apartment in Milwaukee following our wedding (also got a kitty, Hoefler)!

   IMG_1090

Visited Austin, TX for the first time in January 2014 while Aaron was at training for work.IMG_1836

Spring 2014, continued to struggle searching for careers in Milwaukee despite landing another part time job at a coffeeshop, Aaron finished up his last semester of undergrad at UWM. Decided that moving to Austin was going to happen after our lease was up.

Shot for a September move to Austin, ended up moving within a month’s notice and moved into our apartment in Austin on July 15th!

IMG_2499

Had our first Christmas by ourselves by grilling steaks outside in the 60 degree weather. IMG_0652 

January 2015, road tripped back to Milwaukee to have “Christmas” and see lots of family and friends and bring home tons of Milwaukee brews.

IMG_0405

February 2015, left my job at the fruit stand and started my career at a tech company in Austin! Also, rescued a two year old lab mix pup named Chloe!

IMG_1126

  

That brings us to now… the beginning of March.

I want to write about my experiences here in Austin. I want to learn how to use my DSLR better and post my edited photos. I want to learn more about myself and what my hobbies are.

Speaking of hobbies… since I’ve graduated college I have had this struggle of what my interests are and what I can do as my hobby. I was so busy in college with theatre, band, choir and studying that I didn’t have time to just do something I enjoyed. Not that I didn’t enjoy those at all, I think the reason why is because I loved the arts so much that I guess it was my hobby. I have so many interests, and I pin so many neat things on Pinterest. Where’s the motivation to do it all though?

For instance, cooking. I’m starting to like it more. (Maybe you’ll see some of my creations here!) Now that I actually have a steady schedule, I can cook more! So far it’s been going well. I love grammin’ my food so you’ll definitely see it here. Along the lines of cooking, I started a smoothie kick! Aaron and I just got a NutriBullet and it is phenomenal. In a future post I’m sure I’ll go over my process and how easy it actually is!

IMG_1063

Some other interests: podcasts & books.  I am NOT a book worm though… I would like to be…! See – another interest that could potentially be a hobby. I’m having a hard time choosing which one to devote all my time to. Now that my commute is typically 45 mins to work and 1 hour home, I am blowing through podcasts and just started audiobooks again. (If anyone has any suggestions, let me know!)

Unknown

Alright, alright. Maybe I do have hobbies. They’re skimming the top of every interest though. I think I will dive deep into one of them soon.

So there you have it! The last year and a half in a nutshell. Catching up is hard. I will dedicate time to update this blog because I moved across the country away from my loved ones in the Midwest. Hope you enjoy the ride with me!

xo. Cheryl

Leave a Reply

